Malcolm’s Day

Some skilful sailing in the light and variable winds saw Malcolm Davidson survive relegation from the Gold Fleet and get third in the Slow Fleet as the last Spring Series races were held. In both cases his success was at expense of Louis Mok, which just highlights how competitive the Gold fleet is.

Mike Pritchard won the Gold fleet on the day to win the series overall by two points from Paul Jago with Bob Cuerstemont third. Andrew Beaumont and Roger Day were all relegated and final place was between Malcolm, Louis and Kevin Milton. Malcolm had a second, his best result of the season and Kevin third to mean Louis was relegated by one point.

In the Silver fleet, top three were known but Iona Reid won the race today to overtake Denis and Janice King for second place; an excellent performance that sees her join sister Jill in the Gold fleet. Kevin Last won overall. Richard Savage was already relegated but a second place saw Mick Adams climb to fifth overall and safety sending Dave Bexson down to the Bronze fleet.

The Bronze fleet was won by Paul Kelly from the ever improving Peter Hampshire who won on the day. Don Bishop held off a strong challenge by Duncan Adams to take third overall and join Paul and Peter in the Silver fleet next season.

In the Fast fleet Kevin Milton won today to overtake Paul Kelly to third overall. First and second overall were taken by Kevin Last and Bob Cuerstemont. The Slow fleet had already been won by Paul Jago with Ray Kemish. Malcolm Davidson won the final race and with Louis Mo third, Malcolm overhauled Louis to take third overall.

Overall, two great series with many top three positions only finalised after the final race.

“>GSB 2019 Final Tables with Promotion and Relegation